App Review Privacy, AI Consent and Rejection Playbook
Parent: Apple Platform Publishing (Mac App Store) · Published reference · snapshot 2026-10-02 · skill apple-platform-publishing/references/apple-app-review-privacy-ai-and-rejection-playbook.md · viability 3.45 / 5 (skip)
Also known as: Apple privacy, AI-data-sharing and App Review process rules for a Mac utility with an optional user-keyed third-party AI call (Anthropic API), Slack/SMTP alerts, and no analytics — verify against current Apple docs (Oct 2026, macOS 27.x)
↓ Facts as markdownall context files
Source-anchored research for App Review Privacy, AI Consent and Rejection Playbook. Run status: COMPLETED.
These notes link each claim to its source. Some citations identify archived research reports that are no longer hosted on this site. A published reference means the content is available; it does not certify independent review or accuracy.Read the editorial policy and follow the sources before relying on a claim.
Definitions
- 'Tracking' means linking app data with third-party data for targeted advertising/ad measurement, or sharing with a data broker. An app with no analytics or ads SDKs and no such sharing declares no tracking. (high confidence) [source]
- Trader means acting for trade, business, craft or profession (paid apps, IAP, ads, VAT registration, business activity). Traders have address (D-U-N-S auto-filled for organisations), phone and email shown on product pages in all 27 EU territories, and must complete 2FA email/phone verification plus document upload. Non-traders show 'consumer rights ... won't apply'. (high confidence) [source]
Structure and components
- Disclosure is optional only for data meeting ALL of: not used for tracking, not used for advertising/marketing, collected infrequently and not part of primary functionality and optional, and user-provided with clear consent each time. Optional user-keyed AI calls that are a core feature do not obviously qualify, so default to disclosing the data types sent (e.g. User Content, Diagnostics). (medium confidence) [source]
How it works
- Even with exempt encryption, a year-end self-classification report to US BIS may still be required; it is not needed when non-exempt encryption documentation is provided to Apple. Apple places liability for misclassification on the developer. If the app bundles its own TLS/SMTP crypto library (not OS Network.framework/URLSession), the NO answer needs checking. (medium confidence) [source]
- Apple's FAQ lists recurring rejection causes: incomplete app or crashes/bugs, app not performing as advertised, inaccurate screenshots, missing required user permissions, low-quality content. (medium confidence) [source]
- Triggering the API call before the consent prompt is shown is a reported technical rejection cause: consent must precede the first transmission, including prefetch or warm-up requests. (low confidence) (verified as of 2026-05-06) [source]
- Missing purpose strings for protected-resource APIs cause App Store Connect upload errors such as ITMS-90683 ('Missing purpose string in Info.plist'), including when a linked SDK merely references the API. This is binary validation, separate from the 5.1.2(i) consent UI. (low confidence) [source]
Measurements and reference values
- Apple's 2025 App Store Transparency Report: 9,100,620 submissions reviewed, 2,093,244 rejected (about 23%); rejections by category: Performance 1,354,418, Legal 495,673, Design 415,532, Business 283,820, Safety 151,159; 387,087 rejected submissions were later approved after developers addressed concerns. (high confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
- Apple's 2025 report counts 26,305 appeals of app removals with 423 restorations (about 1.6%); this concerns removals, not pre-release rejections, so it is not a rejection-appeal success rate. DSA reports show 179 of 1,337 complaints reversed (Aug 2025) with median 15 days. (medium confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
Problems, failure modes and limitations
- Network-dependent apps are rejected under 2.1 when the reviewer cannot reach the back end or sign in (geo-blocked API, expired demo credentials, OTP the reviewer cannot receive, IPv6-only test network). This is reported by secondary blogs and forums, not stated by Apple as a statistic. (low confidence) [source]
- A 2.1 failure that works on TestFlight but fails in review is commonly attributed (community answer, Mar 2026) to hardcoded IPv4 literals or raw BSD sockets on the IPv6-only review network; use hostnames and URLSession/Network framework, and reproduce with an Internet Sharing NAT64 network. (medium confidence) (verified as of 2026-03-01) [source]
- Guideline 2.3.1 prohibits hidden, dormant or undocumented features and requires new functionality to be described specifically in Notes for Review; generic descriptions are rejected. An optional user-keyed AI feature or Slack/SMTP alerting that a reviewer cannot trigger must be documented there. (medium confidence) [source]
- If a demo account cannot be supplied for legal or security reasons, 2.1 allows a built-in demo mode that shows full functionality, with prior Apple approval. For optional features needing user-supplied credentials, the safe pattern is that the core app works with none and the optional feature has a clearly labelled, documented off state. (medium confidence) [source]
- Apple does not publish App Review source IP ranges; blog reports of Cupertino or Sacramento ranges are unconfirmed and change, so allowlisting or geo/IP gating a backend is an antipattern for review. (low confidence) (verified as of 2026-05-01) [source]
Comparisons and alternatives
- Guideline 2.5.5 requires apps to be fully functional on IPv6-only networks, and Apple DTS states App Review tests on an IPv6-only network with DNS64/NAT64 (ARNAT64), which now behaves much like MacNAT64 (Internet Sharing based) rather than a carrier network. (high confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
Facts and statements
- All apps, including macOS/Mac App Store apps, must provide App Privacy details in App Store Connect for new submissions and updates, plus a URL to a publicly accessible privacy policy. Account Holder, Admin or App Manager enters them. (high confidence) [source]
- Apple defines 'collect' as transmitting data off the device in a way that lets the developer or its third-party partners access it longer than needed to service the request in real time. Data that is only processed on-device, or relayed transiently, is not 'collected'; data sent to a third-party API that retains it, or that is logged server-side, counts. (medium confidence) [source]
- Third-party partners whose code is integrated, plus any third-party service the app sends data to, must be reflected in the label. Data is treated as linked to the user (account, device, or other identifier) unless de-identified before collection. (medium confidence) [source]
- On 24 Jul 2025 Apple replaced the 12+/17+ tiers with 4+, 9+, 13+, 16+ and 18+, added required questions on in-app controls, capabilities, medical/wellness and violent themes, and set a 31 Jan 2026 deadline; developers who had not answered would be blocked from submitting updates. (high confidence) (verified as of 2025-07-24) [source]
- Under the age ratings reference, 'Unrestricted Web Access' and frequent medical/treatment info push an app to 16+; Advertising, messaging and user-generated content alone stay at 4+. A developer may set a higher minimum age than Apple's calculated rating after answering the questions. A utility with no web browsing, UGC or mature themes should compute 4+. (medium confidence) [source]
- As of 9 Jul 2026 Apple added social-media-capability questions to the age rating questionnaire (for Time Allowances); reporting says answers become required from September 2026. Apple's release notes as read here did not state the mandatory date, and the reporting covers iOS only, so applicability to a Mac utility is unconfirmed. (low confidence) (verified as of 2026-09-13) [source]
- Every developer with at least one app on the App Store in the EU must declare DSA trader or non-trader status in App Store Connect (Business > Agreements > Compliance) by Account Holder or Admin; enforcement began 17 Feb 2025, with removal from EU storefronts for undeclared apps. Status can be set per app. (high confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
- Apple says apps distributed only outside the EU, via TestFlight or alternative channels do not make the developer a trader for DSA purposes; but the declaration is still required whenever any app is on the EU App Store. A commercial Mac utility sold by a business should declare trader. (medium confidence) [source]
- Apple documents that encryption built into the OS, e.g. HTTPS via URLSession, is typically exempt from export documentation upload; proprietary encryption is not. Set Info.plist ITSAppUsesNonExemptEncryption to NO if the app (including linked third-party libraries) uses no encryption or only exempt forms, else YES. Without the key, App Store Connect asks every submission. (high confidence) [source]
- Apple's overview notes France separately controls secure storage, secure communications and anti-virus apps (banking and medical exempt); distributing a security-oriented utility in France may add French requirements. (low confidence) [source]
- Guideline 2.1 requires final builds, working URLs, demo account info and a live back-end service for any login; if a demo account is impossible for legal or security reasons, a built-in demo mode needs prior Apple approval and must show full functionality. Crashing or obviously broken binaries are rejected. (high confidence) [source]
- Rejected or Metadata Rejected submissions are answered in Resolution Center; Apple says replies generally arrive within 24 hours and screenshots can be attached. Login instructions, feature locations and demo accounts belong in the App Review Information / Notes for Review fields. (high confidence) [source]
- If still disputed after a Resolution Center reply, the developer files an appeal to the App Review Board via a link in App Store Connect / the Contact Us form; the appeal must be specific about how the app complies. Secondary sources report one appeal per developer account and a 14-day window, and no published turnaround (often a week or more). (medium confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
- Guideline 2.3 forbids hidden, dormant or undocumented features and requires new features to be described in Notes for Review; an optional AI/alert integration should be explicitly described there, with how to enable it. (medium confidence) [source]
- Mac App Store utilities hit Guideline 2.4.5: must be sandboxed, no root escalation or setuid, no login auto-launch without consent, no downloading code or resources that change functionality, updates only via Mac App Store. Apple denies temporary-exception entitlements such as com.apple.security.temporary-exception.sbpl allow iokit-open (CPU temperature readers) under 2.4.5(i). (medium confidence) [source]
- Guideline 5.1.2(i) states: 'You must clearly disclose where personal data will be shared with third parties, including with third-party AI, and obtain explicit permission before doing so.' (high confidence) (verified as of 2025-11-13) [source]
- The 'including with third-party AI' wording was added as a clarification in the Nov 13, 2025 App Review Guidelines update, which also changed 5.1.1(ix) (crypto exchanges). (high confidence) (verified as of 2025-11-13) [source]
- Guideline 5.1.1(ii) requires consent for collecting user or usage data even if anonymous, requires an easily accessible way to withdraw consent, and says: 'Ensure your purpose strings clearly and completely describe your use of the data.' (low confidence) [source]
- Guideline 5.1.1(i) requires a privacy policy link in App Store Connect metadata and in-app. The policy must identify what data is collected, how, and all uses; confirm third parties give equal protection; and explain retention/deletion and how to revoke consent. (low confidence) [source]
- 5.1.2(i) also says data collected from apps may only be shared with third parties to improve the app or serve advertising, and that apps may not require users to enable system functionality to use the app. (low confidence) [source]
- Secondary guidance converges on a consent screen that names the provider (e.g. Anthropic), states the concrete data sent, states the purpose, uses an affirmative tap, appears before the first transmission, and offers revocation in settings. Generic 'powered by AI' or 'enhance your experience' wording is reported to be rejected. (medium confidence) (verified as of 2026-05-06) [source]
- On-device AI (Core ML or similar) where no data leaves the device is read as outside the special third-party-AI disclosure. This is a developer interpretation, not Apple text. (low confidence) [source]
- Neither Apple's guideline text nor the secondary articles read address user-supplied (BYO) API keys or macOS specifically. A reader asked about BYO key and got no answer. Safest design: treat the user's own optional Anthropic call as third-party AI sharing and gate it behind an in-app disclosure plus explicit opt-in before the first request. (low confidence) (verified as of 2025-12-25) [source]
- Guideline 2.1 tells developers to submit final builds, include demo account info if the app has a login, and turn on the back-end service so it is live and accessible during review; non-obvious features must be explained in Review Notes. (high confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
- Apple staff caution that a rejection message citing IPv6 may have nothing to do with the network; crashes during review are bugs regardless of network state. Treat the network as one hypothesis, not the diagnosis. (high confidence) [source]
- Apple's published guidelines state no macOS version used by reviewers; macOS 27 shipped on 2026-09-14 per press reports, so the safest assumption is that the build must launch cleanly on the current release and the minimum deployment target. (low confidence) (verified as of 2026-10-02) [source]
Children
- App Privacy nutrition labels age rating export compliance and DSA trader status
- App Review process mechanics Resolution Center appeals and recurring rejection causes for utility and network apps
- BIS annual self-classification report (frontier)
- BYO API key consent design (frontier)
- DAC7 and Business-section compliance entries (frontier)
- Declared Age Range API (frontier)
- Developer ID notarization as alternative to Mac App Store review (frontier)
- Guideline 5.1.1 and 5.1.2(i) privacy purpose strings and third-party AI data-sharing consent
- Info.plist usage description keys on macOS (frontier)
- Notes for Review template for optional BYO-key features (frontier)
- Privacy manifests and required-reason APIs for Mac apps (frontier)
- Privacy policy requirements under 5.1.1(i) (frontier)
- Review-environment reality: reviewer first launch on a clean account network and latest macOS
- Testing on an Internet Sharing NAT64 network (frontier)
- Writing Review Notes for optional features (frontier)
Frontier under this node: BIS annual self-classification report, BYO API key consent design, DAC7 and Business-section compliance entries, Declared Age Range API, Developer ID notarization as alternative to Mac App Store review, Info.plist usage description keys on macOS, Notes for Review template for optional BYO-key features, Privacy manifests and required-reason APIs for Mac apps, Privacy policy requirements under 5.1.1(i), Testing on an Internet Sharing NAT64 network, Writing Review Notes for optional features